No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Davis Cup 2019: Eighteen-team finals line-up confirmed for Madrid

Andrew Hendrie in News 2 Feb 2019
  • The 2019 Davis Cup finals line-up for Madrid has been confirmed
  • Twelve countries booked their ticket to the Spanish capital by winning qualifying ties on the weekend
Felix Auger-Aliassime celebrates with his Canadian teammates (Photo by VLADIMIR SIMICEK/AFP/Getty Images)

Twelve nations have secured their spot in the inaugural Davis Cup Finals to be played in Madrid at the end of November after winning qualifying ties over the weekend.

(geo restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

Former Davis Cup champions Australia, Germany, Russia, Italy, Russia and Serbia all claimed a ticket to the Caja Magica in Madrid, along with Belgium, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Japan, Kazakhstan and Netherlands.

They join defending champions Croatia, runners-up France, last year’s semi-finalists Spain and the United States and wildcards Great Britain and Argentina in the 18-nation World Cup-style competition, which will be held between 18-24 November in the Spanish capital.

Belgian tennis player Kimmer Coppejans (C), celebrates with teammates (Photo by EVARISTO SA/AFP/Getty Images)
Without World No. 1 and Australian Open champion Novak Djokovic, Serbia were in danger of elimination against minnows Uzbekistan despite heading into Day 2 with a commanding 2-0 lead. Denis Istomin and Sanjar Fayziev teamed up to beat Nikola Milojevic and Viktor Troicki in the doubles before Istomin went on to defeat Dusan Lajovic in straight sets to set up a live fifth rubber. Fayziev was on the brink of a huge upset as he took the opening set over Filip Krajinovic, but the Serbian regained his composure and dominated the rest of the match, prevailing 4-6 6-3 6-0 to secure the win for his country.

Japan, who were without top 10 star Kei Nishikori, were also close to elimination after China took a 2-1 lead after Ze Zhang and Mao-Xin Gong teamed up to conquer Yasutaka Uchiyama and Ben McLachlan in the doubles. However, Japan fought back to win the deciding singles rubbers, with Yoshihito Nishioka easing past Wu Yibing and Taro Daniel overcoming Li Zhe in three sets.

Chile`s Christian Garin and Captain Nicolas Massu celebrate victory (Photo by BARBARA GINDL/AFP/Getty Images)
Belgium completed a thunderous upset over Brazil on away soil, coming back from 0-1 down to win three rubbers on the bounce to emerge triumphant 3-1, with the unheralded team of Sander Gille and Joran Vliegen taking down Grand Slam champions Bruno Soares and Marcelo Melo in straight sets and World No. 195 Kimmer Coppejans - who had never won a live Davis Cup singles tie before - winning both of his matches over Rogerio Dutra Silva and Thiago Monteiro in straight sets.

“Obviously, I couldn’t be happier. I think also an extra motivation was my father that passed away last Winter. I think that was definitely something extra to give everything to give everything on court, to give everything for this amazing team. I hope he would be proud”, said Coppejans.

Belgium were without veterans and Davis Cup finalists David Goffin, Steve Darcis, Ruben Bemelmans and Joris de Loore.

Switzerland, who were missing 20-time major champion Roger Federer and three-time slam winner Stan Wawrinka, went down 3-1 to Russia, while childhood friends and rising stars Denis Shapovalov and Felix Auger-Aliassime led Canada to a 3-2 victory over Slovakia in Bratislava.

Christian Garin beat Jurij Rodionov in the deciding singles rubber to hand Chile a 3-2 win over Austria, while there were comfortable wins for Australia over Bosnia & Herzegovina (4-0), Germany over Hungary (5-0), Columbia over Sweden (4-0), Italy over Indian (3-1) and Kazakhstan over Portugal (3-1) and Netherlands over Czech Republic (3-1).

Davis Cup qualifying results:

Belgium def. Brazil 3-1
Australia def. Bosnia & Herzegovina 4-0
Germany def. Hungary 5-0
Kazakhstan def. Portugal 3-1
Columbia def. Sweden 4-0
Canada def. Slovakia 3-2
Serbia def. Uzbekistan 3-2
Italy def. Indian 3-1
Russia def. Switzerland 3-1
Netherlands def. Czech Republic 3-1
Chile def. Austria 3-2
Japan def. China 3-2

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Davis Cup 2019: Eighteen-team finals line-up confirmed for Madrid

Twelve nations have secured their spot in the inaugural Davis Cup Finals to be played in Madrid at the end of November after winning qualifying ties over the weekend.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages