No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Davis Cup Finals 2019: Djokovic, Nadal, Murray to headline inaugural Davis Cup Finals

Leye Aduloju in News 23 Oct 2019
  • Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal are the headline names as teams announce their squads for the 2019 Davis Cup finals
  • The Davis Cup Finals will be staged in Madrid from 18-24 November
Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have been named in the Spanish and Serbian squads for the 2019 Davis Cup Finals.

The squads for the Davis Cup Finals have been announced, with Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal set to lead their respective countries, while in-form Daniil Medvedev headlines a strong Russian team. The Davis Cup Finals will be staged in Madrid from 18-24 November.

*Geo-restrictions apply. Streams available to customers with an active balance

The 18 finalists have been split into six groups of three nations each, with the group winners, along with the two best second-placed teams advancing to the quarter finals. Group matches will be played in round-robin format, with each match featuring two singles ties and a doubles match.

The inaugural Finals will be without 20-time Grand Slam champion, Roger Federer following Switzerland’s failure to qualify for the event in Madrid, while world No. 6, Alexander Zverev, who has been a major critic of the revamped format, is also absent, choosing instead to play a series of exhibition matches with Federer in Mexico and South American around the same period. Also missing are Kei Nishikori, who has been ruled out for the rest of the season with an elbow injury, Dominic Thiem and Stefanos Tsitsipas, as Austria and Greece did not qualify for the finals.

Great Britain’s Andy Murray is part of the Great Britain squad, as he returns to the Davis Cup arena for the first time since 2016. Murray is joined by British No. 1, Dan Evans, while doubles pair, Jamie Murray and Neal Skupski make up captain Leon Smith’s initial four-man squad. Smith has the option of a fifth player, which will likely come down to a choice between former British No. 1, Kyle Edmund and Cameron Norrie. Edmund has endured a poor run of form of late, losing his last seven tour matches, and slipping out of the top-70 in the process. The 24-year-old has also lost the country’s No. 1 ranking to Evans.

Either way, the Brits will fancy their chances in Group E, where they have been drawn with Netherlands and Kazakhstan. Netherlands are spearheaded by Robin Haase, who is currently out of the top-100, while a decent Kazakhstan team includes Alexander Bublik and Mikhail Kukushkin.

Home nation, Spain are in a much tougher Group B, as they are joined by defending champions, Croatia, and a formidable Russian outfit. The Spanish team features the country’s top-three singles players, with Nadal joined by Roberto Bautista-Agut and Pablo Carreno Busta, while doubles experts, Feliciano Lopez and Marcel Granollers add balance to the squad.

Last year’s winners, Croatia have rolled out their top two players, Borna Coric and Marin Cilic, and are also well-covered in the doubles department, with Mate Pavic, Nikola Metkic and Ivan Dodig, all of whom are inside the top-20 in the doubles rankings, included. Russia go into the tournament with their big guns- Medvedev, Karen Khachanov and Andrey Rublev- setting up the mouth-watering prospect of a US Open final rematch between Nadal and Medvedev.

2010 champions, Serbia are in Group A, alongside France and Japan, with Novak Djokovic headlining the Serbian side. A strong singles line-up also includes Umag champion and Monte Carlo finalist, Dusan Lajovic, and Antwerp runner-up, Filip Krajinovic. There is no place for rising star, Miomir Kecmanovic, and 24-year-old Laslo Djere.  Making up the squad are Janko Tipsarevic, a surprise inclusion as he recently retired from ATP Tour duties, and doubles expert, Ivan Dodig. 

France are led by their No. 1 player, Gael Monfils, who is joined by Benoit Paire, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut in a typically balanced team, but Japan are without their top man, Kei Nishikori, who is out for the season due to an elbow problem. Yoshihito Nishioka is the highest-ranked player in the Japanese squad.

Elsewhere, Jan-Lennard Struff and Philipp Kohlschreiber will lead the German challenge as they attempt to get out of Group C, which includes the South American pair of Chile and Argentina. The Argentine squad is an interesting one, as it currently comprises four men- Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Leonardo Mayer and Horacio Zeballos- leaving space for one more player. With Juan Martin del Potro set to return to action before the end of the year, could he be playing Davis Cup tennis in November?

Another notable inclusion is Nick Kyrgios, who returns to the Davis Cup fold for the first time since February last year. The controversial Australian has been struggling with a shoulder problem, but he makes the Aussie team that will compete in Group D alongside Belgium, led by David Goffin, and Colombia.

Canada have a good-looking side in Group F, with young guns, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Denis Shapovalov joined by Milos Raonic and Vasek Pospisil. They are in the same group as North American rivals, USA and a formidable Italian unit comprising Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini, Andreas Seppi, Lorenzo Sonego and Simone Bolleli.

Davis Cup Squads

Davis Cup Finals Group A

Player 1Gael MonfilsYoshihito NishiokaNovak Djokovic
Player 2Benoit PaireYasutaka UchiyamaDusan Lajovic
Player 3Jo-Wilfried TsongaYuichi SugitaFilip Krajinovic
Player 4Pierre-Hugues HerbertTaro DanielViktor Troicki
Player 5Nicolas MahutBen McLachlanJanko Tipsarevic
CaptainSebastien GrosjeanSatoshi IwabuchiNenad Zimonjic

Davis Cup Finals Group B

Player 1Marin CilicDaniil MedvedevRafael Nadal
Player 2Borna CoricKaren KhachanovRoberto Bautista-Agut
Player 3Mate PavicAndrey RublevPablo Carreno Busta
Player 4Nikola MetkicEvgeny DonskoyFeliciano Lopez
Player 5Ivan DodigMarcel Granollers
CaptainZeljko KrajanShamil TarpishevSergi Bruguera

Davis Cup Finals Group C

Player 1Diego SchwartzmanCristian GarinJan-Lennard Struff
Player 2Guido PellaNicolas JarryPhilipp Kohlscheiber
Player 3Leonardo MayerAlejandro TabiloDominik Koepfer
Player 4Horacio ZeballosMarcelo Tomas Barrios VeraKevin Krawietz
Player 5Hans Podlipnik-CastilloAndreas Mies
CaptainGaston GaudioNicolas MassuMichael Kohlmann

Davis Cup Finals Group D

Player 1Alex de MinaurDavid GoffinDaniel Galan
Player 2Nick KyrgiosKimmer CoppejansSantiago Giraldo
Player 3John MillmanSteve DarcisAlejandro Gonzalez
Player 4Jordan ThompsonJoran VliegenJuan Sebastian Cabal
Player 5John PeersSander GilleRobert Farah
CaptainLleyton HewittJohan Van HerckPablo Gonzalez

Davis Cup Finals Group E

TeamGreat BritainKazakhstanNetherlands
Player 1Dan EvansAlexander BublikRobin Haase
Player 2Andy MurrayMikhail KukushkinTallon Griekspoor
Player 3Jamie MurrayDmitry PopkoBotic Van de Zandschulp
Player 4Neal SkupskiAlexsandr NedovyesovWesley Koolhof
Player 5Andrey GolubevJean Julien Rojer
CaptainLeon SmithDias DoskarayevPaul Haarhuis

Davis Cup Finals Group F

Player 1Milos RaonicMatteo BerrettiniTaylor Fritz
Player 2Felix Auger-AliassimeFabio FogniniReilly Opelka
Player 3Denis ShapovalovLorenzo SonegoSam Querrey
Player 4Vasek PospisilAndreas SeppiFrances Tiafoe
Player 5Simone BolelliJack Sock
CaptainFrank DancevicCorrado BarrazzuttiMardy Fish

The Davis Cup Finals will be staged in Madrid from 18-24 November.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Davis Cup Finals 2019: Djokovic, Nadal, Murray to headline inaugural Davis Cup Finals

Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal are the headline names as teams announce their squads for the 2019 Davis Cup finals.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages