No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Davis Cup Finals 2019 - Teams, draw, schedule and more for the inaugural Davis Cup Finals in Madrid

Hannah Wilks in News 17 Nov 2019
  • Everything you need to know about the inaugural Davis Cup Finals, to be played in Madrid 18-24 November 2019
  • The teams, tournament schedule, draw, players and more for the new-look Davis Cup event
Croatia celebrate winning the Davis Cup in 2018. (PA Sports)

Everything you need to know about the inaugural Davis Cup Finals - teams, players, tournament schedule and more.

The new-look Davis Cup Finals take place in Madrid from 18-24 November 2019 - here's your guide to the revamped event which now brings the tennis season to a close.

The 119-year-old competition, which began as a challenge between Great Britain and the USA in 1900, has evolved over the years into one of the world's biggest annual international team sports events and has been dramatically reimaged for the 2019 edition, with the year-round system of home and away ties replaced by a week-long final round held at a neutral venue and featuring the top 18 teams in the world.

The 18 finalists have been split into six groups of three nations each, with the group winners, along with the two best second-placed teams advancing to the quarter finals. Group matches will be played in round-robin format, with each match featuring two singles ties and a doubles match. The new format has had its fair share of controversy, with some prominent players and fans criticizing the revamped system, but this week's Finals still boasts a star-studded cast, spearheaded by the top two players in the world, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. 

The tournament will however be without 20-time Grand Slam champion, Roger Federer, and Nitto ATP Finals finalists, Dominic Thiem and Stefanos Tsitsipas as their countries did not qualify for the Finals. Germany's Alexander Zverev opted out of the competition, choosing instead to play a series of exhibition matches with Federer in Mexico and South American around the same period.

There have been a couple of high profile late withdrawals, most notably Marin Cilic, who led Croatia to Davis Cup glory last season. The former US Open champion misses the tournament with a recurring knee problem, while former world No. 3, Milos Raonic will also be absent from the Finals after withdrawing with a back problem.

Davis Cup Finals Groups

Davis Cup Finals Group A

Player 1Gael MonfilsYoshihito NishiokaNovak Djokovic
Player 2Benoit PaireYasutaka UchiyamaDusan Lajovic
Player 3Jo-Wilfried TsongaYuichi SugitaFilip Krajinovic
Player 4Pierre-Hugues HerbertTaro DanielViktor Troicki
Player 5Nicolas MahutBen McLachlanJanko Tipsarevic
CaptainSebastien GrosjeanSatoshi IwabuchiNenad Zimonjic

Davis Cup Finals Group B

Player 1Borna CoricDaniil MedvedevRafael Nadal
Player 2Mate PavicKaren KhachanovRoberto Bautista-Agut
Player 3Nikola MetkicAndrey RublevPablo Carreno Busta
Player 4Ivan DodigEvgeny DonskoyFeliciano Lopez
Player 5Marcel Granollers
CaptainZeljko KrajanShamil TarpishevSergi Bruguera

Davis Cup Finals Group C

Player 1Diego SchwartzmanCristian GarinJan-Lennard Struff
Player 2Guido PellaNicolas JarryPhilipp Kohlscheiber
Player 3Leonardo MayerAlejandro TabiloDominik Koepfer
Player 4Horacio ZeballosMarcelo Tomas Barrios VeraKevin Krawietz
Player 5Maximo GonzalezHans Podlipnik-CastilloAndreas Mies
CaptainGaston GaudioNicolas MassuMichael Kohlmann

Davis Cup Finals Group D

Player 1Alex de MinaurDavid GoffinDaniel Galan
Player 2Nick KyrgiosKimmer CoppejansSantiago Giraldo
Player 3John MillmanSteve DarcisAlejandro Gonzalez
Player 4Jordan ThompsonJoran VliegenJuan Sebastian Cabal
Player 5John PeersSander GilleRobert Farah
CaptainLleyton HewittJohan Van HerckPablo Gonzalez

Davis Cup Finals Group E

TeamGreat BritainKazakhstanNetherlands
Player 1Dan EvansAlexander BublikRobin Haase
Player 2Kyle EdmundMikhail KukushkinTallon Griekspoor
Player 3Andy MurrayDmitry PopkoBotic Van de Zandschulp
Player 4Jamie MurrayAlexsandr NedovyesovWesley Koolhof
Player 5Neal SkupskiAndrey GolubevJean Julien Rojer
CaptainLeon SmithDias DoskarayevPaul Haarhuis

Davis Cup Finals Group F

Player 1Felix Auger-AliassimeMatteo BerrettiniTaylor Fritz
Player 2Denis ShapovalovFabio FogniniReilly Opelka
Player 3Brayden SchnurLorenzo SonegoSam Querrey
Player 4Vasek PospisilAndreas SeppiFrances Tiafoe
Player 5Simone BolelliJack Sock
CaptainFrank DancevicCorrado BarrazzuttiMardy Fish

Davis Cup Finals Schedule

Group Stage

Monday, 18 November, from 3:00pm GMT
Croatia vs Russia
Belgium vs Colombia
Italy vs Canada

Tuesday, 19 November

Morning Session, from 10:00am GMT
France v Japan
Argentina v Chile
Kazakhstan v Netherlands

Afternoon Session, from 5:00pm
Spain v Russia
Australia v Colombia
USA v Canada

Wednesday, 20 November

Morning Session, from 10:00am GMT
Serbia v Japan
Argentina v Germany
Great Britain v Netherlands

Afternoon Session, from 5:00pm
Croatia v Spain
Belgium v Australia
USA v Italy

Thursday, 21 November

Morning Session, from 10:00am GMT 
France v Serbia
Germany v Chile
Great Britain v Kazakhstan

Afternoon Session, from 5:00pm
Croatia v Spain
Belgium v Australia
USA v Italy

Quarter Finals

Thursday, 21 November
Winner Group D vs Winner Group F

Friday, 22 November
Winner Group A vs Best or Second Best Runner-Up
Winner Group E vs Winner Group C
Winner Group B vs Best of Second Best Runner-Up


Saturday, 23 November 


Sunday, 24 November

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Davis Cup Finals 2019 - Teams, draw, schedule and more for the inaugural Davis Cup Finals in Madrid

The new-look Davis Cup Finals take place at Madrid's Caja Magica from 18-24 November 2019: Everything you need to know including the teams, the draw, the schedule and more

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages