No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Djokovic, Halep named 2018 ITF world champions

Kachi Wachuku in News 14 Dec 2018
  • Djokovic and Halep receive 2018 ITF world champion honours following stellar seasons
  • This marks the sixth time Djokovic receives the award and first time for Romania's Halep
Novak Djokovic and Simona Halep.

Djokovic claimed two major titles at Wimbledon and the US Open while Halep won her maiden major title at Roland Garros to finish the year as no.1 for the second straight year.

*Geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) have announced the recipients of this year's world champion awards - Simona Halep and Novak Djokovic. The Serb claims this illustrious award for the sixth time in his career while Halep notches her first honour.

“I am very honoured to be named ITF World Champion again. I am particularly proud of this achievement after all that I’ve been through physically this year, but part of me always believed I could make it back to the top. It is very satisfying to join Pete Sampras by winning my sixth award,” said Djokovic.

Djokovic enjoyed a resurgent season which saw him climb from World No.22 at the start of the season to end the year as World No.1. The 31-year won successive Grand Slam titles at Wimbledon and the US Open(to take his tally to 14 majors), he also became the first player to achieve the Career Golden Masters by clinching the Cincinnati crown. Halep had her first taste of Grand Slam success when she lifted her maiden major title at Roland Garros following a runner-up finish in Australian earlier in the year. The Romanian spent a total 40 weeks at the summit of women's tennis to end the year as World No.1 for the second successive season. She was then voted WTA Player of the Year during the WTA Finals in Singapore.

“It's a great honour to be named as ITF World Champion for the first time. I had an incredible year, winning my first Grand Slam at Roland Garros and finishing the year as world No. 1. To be recognised in this way is really special and provides extra motivation to keep working for next season,” said Halep.

Mike Bryan and Jack Sock receive the world champions award in the men's doubles category after winning two Grand Slam titles and triumphing at the ATP Finals. This marks the 12th time Mike Bryan will receive the award and the first time for partner Jack Sock. Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova were named the women's doubles world champions thanks to titles at Roland Garros, Wimbledon and being members of the 
Czech Republic Fed Cup winning team.

Japan’s Shingo Kunieda, Diede de Groot of Netherlands and Australia’s Dylan Alcott have been announced as the men’s, women’s and quad winners in the wheelchair division. Chinese Taipei’s Tseng Chun Hsin and Clara Burel of France are the junior world champions for the boys and girls category respectively.

“Congratulations to our 2018 ITF World Champions who have demonstrated immense skill, talent and dedication on their way to achieving great success on the court. They are a credit to our sport and have all contributed to another memorable year for tennis," said ITF president, David Haggerty.

The ITF World Champions will receive their awards at the 2019 ITF World Champions Dinner on Tuesday 4 June, in Paris, during Roland Garros.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Djokovic, Halep named 2018 ITF world champions

World No.1s Novak Djokovic and Simona Halep have been named the 2018 ITF world champions following their stellar 2018 seasons. This is the sixth time Djokovic receives this honour and the first time for Romania's Halep.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages