No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Roger Federer and Serena Williams win big at 2018 Laureus Awards

Kachi Wachuku in News 28 Feb 2018
  • World No.1 Federer wins record fifth Laureus World Sportsman of the year award in Monaco
  • 23-time major champion Serena scores Sportswoman of the year accolade in big night for tennis

Federer and Serena shine bright at 2018 Laureus World Sports Awards.

Watch and bet on live tennis at Unibet.
In what is deemed the 'Oscars of Sports', tennis legends Roger Federer and Serena Williams have been named Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year respectively, at the prestigious Laureus World Sports Awards which took place in Monaco.

Federer, who recently reclaimed the number one ranking from Nadal especially scored big on the night - winning a record fifth Laureus Sportsman of the year award along with the recognition for Comeback Player of the Year, bringing his tally to six total Laureus awards. The latter trophy commemorates his 2017 exploits, where he won seven(7) titles including the Australian Open and Wimbledon following a six-month injury hiatus.
2017 Australian Open - Day 13

Serena Williams with her 2017 Australian Open trophy. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Serena Williams - who returns to the tour at next week's BNP Paribas Open - was not left out. The 23-time Grand Slam champion was honoured with the Sportswoman of the year for the fourth time, having previously won the illustrious award in 2003, 2010 and 2016. The former World No.1 was recognised after winning the 2017 Australian Open while roughly eight weeks pregnant for her first child.

36-year old Federer surpasses Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt for most Sportsman of the year awards, with a record fifth trophy. Prior to this, the Swiss won the accolade four years in a row between 2005 and 2008.

Arch rivals Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have also been on the Laureus winners list, with Nadal winning the Sportsman of the year honour in 2011 and Djokovic claiming it in 2012, 2015 and 2016.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Roger Federer and Serena Williams win big at 2018 Laureus Awards

With a combine 43 major singles titles to their names, Serena Williams and Roger Federer can now add 2018 Laureus sportswoman and sportsman awards to their glistering resumes.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages