No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

ATP Brisbane International Player Field: Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray to start 2019 ATP World Tour campaign at the Brisbane International

Leye Aduloju in ATP Tour 29 Nov 2018
  • Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray are among an all-star cast set to begin their 2019 ATP world Tour seasons in Brisbane
  • Former champions, Milos Raonic, Grigor Dimitrov and Nick Kyrgios also get 2019 underway in Brisbane
  • ATP Brisbane International is live from Brisbane from 30 December 2018- 6 January, 2019
Nadal opens his 2019 season in Brisbane. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Rafael Nadal is set to return to ATP World Tour action in January 2019 with the Spaniard leading the field at the Brisbane International.

Nadal will play his first competitive match since retiring from his US Open semifinal against Juan Martin del Potro with a knee injury. It was the second time in 2018 that Nadal had retired from a Grand Slam match, as he had earlier failed to complete his Australian Open quarter final against Marin Cilic because of a thigh injury- a problem that kept him out of action for two months. 

When he did play, Nadal compiled a fine year- he typically dominated the clay-court season, signing off with an 11th Roland Garros title, and added a hard court title in Toronto to his collection. The 32-year-old also reached the semifinals at Wimbledon and the US Open. Nadal lead the rankings for long periods in 2018, but his inactivity down the stretch, coupled with the brilliance of Novak Djokovic meant he had to settle for the year-end No. 2 ranking.

Nadal returns to Brisbane for the second time, following his 2017 debut, when he was lost to Milos Raonic in the quarter finals.

Also scheduled to begin his 2019 season in Brisbane is two-time champion, Andy Murray, who joins the field on a protected ranking of No. 2. Former world No. 1, Murray has had a turbulent year and a half, missing the second half of 2017 with a hip injury, undergoing surgery in early 2018, and spending the rest of the year recovering and finding his feet and form on the tour.

After an 11-month absence, Murray finally returned to the sport in Eastbourne, but he made no meaningful impact, stuttering to a 7-5 record before pulling down the curtains on his campaign after a quarter final loss to Fernando Verdasco in Shenzhen, citing an ankle injury. Murray dropped as low as 839th during his injury ordeal, but ended 2018 ranked 260th, he will hope Brisbane provides a fresh, injury-free start as he bids to reclaim his spot in the top echelon of the sport. The Scot won the Brisbane title in 2012 and 2013.

Joining Nadal and Murray at the tournament is Kei Nishikori, a finalist in 2017. Nishikori still doesn't have an ATP World Tour title since Memphis in 2016, but he won't be too disappointed with his effort in 2018, given that he had missed the latter part of the previous season with a wrist injury, and had begun the 2018 campaign on the Challenger Tour.

The 2017 Brisbane finalist was particularly strong towards the end of the year, making finals in Tokyo and Vienna, and semifinals at the US Open. He had also reached another final in Monte Carlo. Nishikori returned to the Nitto ATP Finals in 2018, but after scoring a big win over Roger Federer in his opening match, he suffered heavy defeats against Kevin Anderson and Dominic Thiem to crash out of at the round robin phase. It was a disappointing end the year, but that was just a small blot on an encouraging season, and will be keen to get off to a very good start next season. 

Other key players in the Brisbane field are former champions, Milos Raonic, Grigor Dimitrov and Nick Kyrgios- the defending champion- while British No. 1, Kyle Edmund, and young gun, Alex De Minaur, whose semifinal run last year kick-started a breakout season, also take their place in the Brisbane draw.

Teenager, Di Minaur enters the tournament as Australia’s top-ranked player. 

ATP Brisbane Player Field (Top 8 Players)

ATP Brisbane Player Field- Top 8 Players

Rafael Nadal2Spain
Kei Nishikori9Japan
Kyle Edmund14Great Britain
Daniil Medvedev16Russia
Milos Raonic18Canada
Grigor Dimitrov19Bulgaria
Alex De Minaur31Australia
Nick Kyrgios35Australia
Selected Others
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga259France
Andy Murray260Great Britain

ATP Brisbane Tournament Information

ATP Brisbane fast facts

ATP BrisbaneBrisbane International
DatesDecember 30 to January 6
VenueQueensland Tennis Centre
LocationBrisbane, Australia
First Played2009
Draw Size32
SurfaceATP 250
Prize Money$437,380
Reigning Singles ChampionNick Kyrgios
Reigning Doubles ChampionJohn Peers/Henri Kontinen

ATP Brisbane International is live from Brisbane from 30 December 2018- 6 January, 2019

*Geo restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

ATP Brisbane International Player Field: Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray to start 2019 ATP World Tour campaign at the Brisbane International

Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray will return to action at the Brisbane International, where they serve off their 2019 campaigns. Brisbane International is live from Brisbane from 30 December to 6 January.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages