No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

Australian Open 2019 men's entry list: Six-time champion Novak Djokovic returns as World No. 1 to lead the field

Andrew Hendrie in ATP Tour 5 Dec 2018
  • Australian Open 2019 entry list
  • Djokovic returns as the World No. 1
  • Federer back as the defending champion
Novak Djokovic (Photo by WILLIAM WEST/AFP/Getty Images)

World No. 1 and six-time champion Novak Djokovic leads the field at the 2019 Australian Open as the official entry list for the opening Grand Slam of the season was released on Wednesday.

(geo restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)

After suffering a shock loss in the fourth round this year to Hyeon Chung following an extended stint on the sidelines due to injury, Djokovic returns to Melbourne Park as the dominant World No. 1 and eager to add a seventh piece of Australian Open silverware to his ever-growing trophy cabinet.

But the Serbian, as always, faces an almighty challenge if he wants to reign supreme inside Rod Laver Arena once more, with fellow legends Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer also seeking more glory at the Australian Open. Nadal was forced to retire in last year’s quarter-finals against Marin Cilic with a knee injury and only managed to complete one hardcourt event throughout 2018, while Federer will be attempting to defend his title after conquering Cilic in the final and finishing the year at No. 3.

Andy Murray (Photo by PAUL CROCK/AFP/Getty Images)
Rounding out the ‘Big Four’ is a returning Andy Murray, who missed last year’s tournament after undergoing hip surgery. The five-time Australian Open runner-up returned to action during the grass season, and although he was limited to just six tournaments as he gradually regained full fitness, Murray has been putting himself through intense training regimes in Miami in the lead-up to the Australian summer in a bid to hit the ground running. The Scot has used a protected ranking of No. 2 to enter the first major of the year.

Former top 10 star Janko Tipsarevic and Belgian veteran Steve Darcis have also entered on the back of their protected rankings, while the remainder of the men’s top 100 will also be present in yet another star-studded edition of the Australian Open.

Rounding out the top 10 include ATP Finals champion Alexander Zverev, U.S. Open runner-up Juan Martin del Potro, Wimbledon finalist Kevin Anderson, last year’s Australian Open runner-up Marin Cilic, French Open finalist Dominic Thiem and the ever-present Kei Nishikori.

Leading the charge for the Australians is teenage sensation Alex de Minaur, who surged up the rankings from outside the top 200 at the start of 2018 to a year-end mark of No. 31. Former top 15 player Nick Kyrgios will be determined to make up for a disappointing 2018 campaign in front of his home fans, while John Millman - who famously stunned Federer at the U.S. Open this season - will also be looking for a big Australian Open. Matthew Ebden, Jordan Thompson and Bernard Tomic are also direct entrants.

“After an incredible end-of-season run this year Novak will be full of confidence. He’s a fan favourite here and loves the conditions in Melbourne. I’ve been in touch with Rafa and he’s back to full fitness after cutting his season short after Paris and can’t wait to arrive in Australia,” Australian Open tournament director Craig Tiley said.
“And there are so many contenders who have the game, fitness and ability to break through on the men’s side.
“Kei Nishikori has had an incredible year, as have Marin Cilic and Kevin Anderson. The young guns Sasha Zverev, Dominic Thiem and Stefanos Tsitsipas are all on the cusp of a breakthrough at this level.”

Check out the full Australian Open men’s entry list below:

1. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2. Rafael Nadal (ESP)
2. Andy Murray (GBR) - PR
3. Roger Federer (SUI)
4. Alexander Zverev (GER)
5. Juan Martin del Potro (ARG)
6. Kevin Anderson (RSA)
7. Marin Cilic (CRO)
8. Dominic Thiem (AUT)
9. Kei Nishikori (JPN)
10. John Isner (USA)
11. Karen Khachanov (RUS)
12. Borna Coric (CRO)
13. Fabio Fognini (ITA)
14. Kyle Edmund (GBR)
15. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
16. Daniil Medvedev (RUS)
17. Diego Schwartzman (ARG)
18. Milos Raonic (CAN)
19. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
20. Marco Cecchinato (ITA)
21. Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO)
22. David Goffin (BEL)
23. Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)
24. Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP)
25. Hyeon Chung (KOR)
26. Richard Gasquet (FRA)
27. Denis Shapovalov (CAN)
28. Fernando Verdasco (ESP)
29. Gael Monfils (FRA)
30. Gilles Simon (FRA)
31. Alex de Minaur (AUS)
32. Lucas Pouille (FRA)
33. Steve Johnson (USA)
34. Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)
35. Nick Kyrgios (AUS)
36. Marton Fucsovics (HUN)
37. Andreas Seppi (ITA)
38. John Millman (AUS)
39. Frances Tiafoe (USA)
40. Jeremy Chardy (FRA)
41. Martin Klizan (SVK)
42. Adrian Mannarino (FRA)
43. Nicolas Jarry (CHI)
44. Joao Sousa (POR)
45. Malek Jaziri (TUN)
46. Matthew Ebden (AUS)
47. Damir Dzumhur (BIH)
48. Dusan Lajovic (SRB)
49. Taylor Fritz (USA)
50. Robin Haase (NED)
51. Sam Querrey (USA)
52. Benoit Paire (FRA)
53. Mikhail Kukushkin (KAZ)
54. Matteo Berrettini (ITA)
55. Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA)
56. Leonardo Mayer (ARG)
57. Jan-Lennard Struff (GER)
58. Guido Pella (ARG)
59. Peter Gojowczyk (GER)
60. Marius Copil (ROU)
61. Tennys Sandgren (USA)
62. Ryan Harrison (USA)
63. Denis Kudla (USA)
64. Feliciano Lopez (ESP)
65. Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP)
66. Stan Wawrinka (SUI)
67. Aljaz Bedene (SLO)
68. Andrey Rublev (RUS)
69. Mischa Zverev (GER)
70. Vasek Pospisil (CAN)
71. Tomas Berdych (CZE)
72. Jordan Thompson (AUS)
73. Roberto Carballes Baena (ESP)
74. Maximilian Marterer (GER)
75. Yoshihito Nishioka (JPN)
76. Bradley Klahn (USA)
77. Taro Daniel (JPN)
78. Mackenzie McDonald (USA)
79. Guido Andreozzi (ARG)
80. Federico Delbonis (ARG)
81. Jaume Munar (ESP)
82. Pablo Andujar (ESP)
83. Bernard Tomic (AUS)
84. Christian Garin (CHI)
85. Jozef Kovalik (SVK)
86. Hubert Hurkacz (POL)
87. Mirza Basic (BIH)
88. Pablo Cuevas (URU)
88. Janko Tipsarevic (SRB) - PR
89. Jiri Vesely (CZE)
90. Cameron Norrie (GBR)
90. Steve Darcis (BEL) - PR
91. Ilya Ivashka (BLR)
92. Denis Istomin (UZB)
93. Laslo Djere (SRB)
94. Filip Krajinovic (SRB)
95. Ernests Gulbis (LAT)
96. Marcel Granollers (ESP)
97. Evgeny Donskoy (RUS)
98. Radu Albot (MDA)
99. Reilly Opelka (USA)
100. Ivo Karlovic (CRO)
101. Thomas Fabbiano (ITA)

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Australian Open 2019 men's entry list: Six-time champion Novak Djokovic returns as World No. 1 to lead the field

World No. 1 and six-time champion Novak Djokovic leads the field at the 2019 Australian Open as the official entry list for the opening Grand Slam of the season was released on Wednesday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages