Murray and Raducanu knocked out at Wimbledon as Djokovic roars on

Jonathan Davies in Wimbledon 29 Jun 2022
Murray was beaten by Isner on Centre Court (Action Plus Sports Images / Alamy Stock Photo)

Andy Murray was knocked out of Wimbledon following a second-round defeat by an inspired John Isner on Wednesday.

Two-time champion Murray arrived on Centre Court having prevailed in each of his eight previous meetings with Isner.

But despite demonstrating his trademark grit and determination, he had no answer to the huge serve of the American, who advanced a 6-4 7-6(4) 6-7(3) 6-4 winner.

Indeed, the 20th seed racked up 36 aces including his 1,000th in singles matches at SW19 – becoming only the fifth player to achieve the feat.

Through to round three for the first time since 2018, Isner will play Jannik Sinner after the 10th seed saw off Mikael Ymer 6-4 6-3 5-7 6-2.

There was further British disappointment as US Open champion Emma Raducanu was ousted by another inspired opponent in Caroline Garcia.

A recent winner in Bad Homburg, the former world number four built on her momentum; a 6-3 6-3 success giving her a seventh successive victory.

Ryan Peniston was also beaten in straight sets by Steve Johnson, while Cameron Norrie came close to joining his compatriots in the departure lounge.

Indeed, the British number one was forced to rally from two sets to one down before eventually overcoming Jaume Munar 6-4 3-6 5-7 6-0 6-2.

Harriet Dart enjoyed much smoother progress as she defeated Spaniard Rebeka Masarova 6-1 6-4 to set up a showdown with eighth seed Jessica Pegula, who saw off Donna Vekic in straight sets.

Elsewhere, reigning champion Novak Djokovic recorded his 34th successive win on Centre Court after beating Thanasi Kokkinakis 6-1 6-4 6-2 in two hours; securing his third-round spot for a 13th straight year.

Fifth seed Carlos Alcaraz advanced to round three for the first time after defeating Tallen Griekspoor in straight sets, but French Open runner-up Casper Ruud was stunned 3-6 6-2 7-5 6-4 by Ugo Humbert.

There were also notable exits in the Ladies’ draw. Second seed Anett Kontaveit was ousted 6-4 6-0 in just 58 minutes by world number 97 Jule Niemeier, who became the lowest-ranked female player to beat a top-three opponent at the All England Club since Jana Cepelova shocked Garbine Muguruza in 2016.

Muguruza – champion here in 2017 – also went down in straight sets against Greet Minnen.

There were no such problems for Ons Jabeur and Maria Sakkari, who prevailed in straight sets against Katarzyna Kawa and Viktoriya Tomova respectively.

Last year’s finalist Karolina Pliskova overcame Tereza Martincova 7-6(1) 7-5 and Jelena Ostapenko saw off Yanina Wickmayer 6-2 6-2, while 2018 champion Angelique Kerber marked her 50th match at Wimbledon with a 6-3 6-3 win over Magda Linette.


Wimbledon 2022 Day Three Results

Wednesday June 29

Centre Court
Novak Djokovic 6-1 6-4 6-2 Thanasi Kokkinakis
Caroline Garcia 6-3 6-3 Emma Raducanu
Andy Murray 4-6 6-7(4) 7-6(3) 4-6 John Isner

No.1 Court
Jule Niemeier 6-4 6-0 Anett Kontaveit
Tereza Martincova 6-7(1) 5-7 Karolina Pliskova
Cameron Norrie 6-4 3-6 5-7 6-0 6-2 Jaume Munar
Maria Sakkari 6-4 6-3 Viktoriya Tomova

No.2 Court
Casper Ruud 6-3 2-6 5-7 4-6 Ugo Humbert
Garbine Muguruza 4-6 0-6 Greet Minnen
Angelique Kerber 6-3 6-3 Magda Linette
Tallon Griekspoor 4-6 6-7(0) 3-6 Carlos Alcaraz

No.3 Court
Ryan Peniston 3-6 2-6 4-6 Steve Johnson
Yanina Wickmayer 2-6 2-6 Jelena Ostapenko
Jannik Sinner 6-4 6-3 5-7 6-2 Mikael Ymer
Katarzyna Kawa 4-6 0-6 Ons Jabeur

Court 12
Anhelina Kalinina 6-3 4-6 3-6 Lesia Tsurenko
Rebeka Masarova 1-6 4-6 Harriet Dart
Tommy Paul 6-2 6-4 6-1 Adrian Mannarino
Tim Van Rijthoven 6-4 6-7(8) 7-6(7) 7-6(4) Reilly Opelka

Court 18
Frances Tiafoe 6-2 6-2 7-6(3) Maximilian Marterer
Tatjana Maria 6-3 1-6 5-7 Sorana Cirstea
Maja Chwalinska 6-3 1-6 0-6 Alison Riske

Court 14
David Goffin 6-1 6-2 6-4 Sebastian Baez
Alexander Bublik 7-6(7) 6-2 7-5 Dusan Lajovic
Diane Parry 6-3 6-2 Mai Hontama

Court 15
Alejandro Tabilo 6-7(4) 6-7(3) 6-3 3-6 Miomir Kecmanovic
Marie Bouzkova 6-0 6-3 Ann Li
Elisabetta Cocciaretto 4-6 4-6 Irina-Camelia Begu

Court 16
Oscar Otte 3-1 Ret. Christian Harrison
Nikoloz Basilashvili 7-6(7) 0-6 7-5 7-6(5) Quentin Halys

Court 17
Shuai Zhang 7-6(6) 6-2 Marta Kostyuk
Donna Vekic 3-6 6-7(2) Jessica Pegula
Jiri Vesely 6-3 5-7 6-7(2) 6-3 7-6(7) Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
Dalma Galfi 5-7 3-6 Kaja Juvan

Latest Tennis Offers

  • Watch all ATP Finals matches streamed live here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get £30 in Free Bets when you register and place ANY first bet
  • Daily Price Boosts, Specials and Live Streaming