Adelaide 250

techadmin in Uncategorized 28 Nov 2019
One of the most popular stops on the ATP World Tour, the leading stars in men’s tennis converge at the Brisbane International to launch their respective 2019 seasons as a brand new year of tennis begins down under!
World No. 2 Rafael Nadal will join former winners Andy Murray and Grigor Dimitrov, along with defending champion Nick Kyrgios, at the 2019 Brisbane International, live from December 30 to January 6.


ATP Brisbane International tennis is live from December 30 to January 6, 2019, with play starting around 11.00am local/1.00am GMT. Bookmaker bet365 are offering customers the opportunity to watch a live stream of the match alongside in-play betting.
Watch and bet on ATP Brisbane tennis live at bet365 > live streaming > tennis (geo-restrictions apply; funded account required or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify)
How to watch and bet on ATP Brisbane International tennis:
1. Visit the bet365 website
2. Sign into your account or register for a new one
3. Select Live Streaming
4. Select ‘Tennis’ from the ‘All Sports’ dropdown menu
5. Enjoy a live stream & in-play betting for ATP Brisbane International tennis, live from December 30 to January 6, 2019.
PLEASE NOTE: You must have a funded account or have placed a bet in the last 24 hours in order to watch tennis; geo-restrictions apply.



A number of elite players have already committed to starting their 2019 seasons at the Brisbane International, arguably the best ATP 250 tournament on the calendar.
Leading the way is World No. 2 Rafael Nadal, who will be playing his first official match since retiring in the U.S. Open semi-finals in September with a knee injury. Nadal would go on to withdraw from the Paris Masters and season-ending Nitto ATP Finals with an abdominal problem before undergoing a 35-minute surgical procedure to repair his injured right ankle.
After retiring or withdrawing from all but one of the hardcourt events he entered in 2018, is Nadal ready to compete on the surface in 2019?
Another player making his comeback from injury at the 2019 Brisbane International is former World No. 1 Andy Murray. It was this time 12 months ago when Murray aborted a planned initial comeback in Brisbane to undergo hip surgery in Melbourne, forcing him onto the sidelines for the first six months of 2018. Murray would return for the grass season but would ultimately miss Wimbledon and play just six events for the year, ending his season in September as he took to the practice court in order to rebuild his fitness.
Murray has spent the off-season training at base-camps in Philadelphia and Miami, while he is planning to arrive in Brisbane just before Christmas in order to give himself the best possible preparation for a successful run. A two-time former Brisbane International champion in 2012-13, can Murray make it a hat-trick of trophies upon his return to the Queensland city in 2019?
Meanwhile, former winner Grigor Dimitrov and defending champion Nick Kyrgios will be hoping to put disappointing 2018 seasons behind them as they look for a fresh start in January. Dimitrov arrived in Brisbane this time last year as the Nitto ATP Finals champion and at a career-high ranking of No. 3, but the Bulgarian delivered an extremely sub-par season and has slipped to No. 19 in the world.
Kyrgios began 2018 in superb fashion as he claimed his fourth ATP World Tour title in Brisbane, defeating Dimitrov along the way, but injuries once again disrupted his season, while the Australian has since revealed he has also been struggling with mental demons throughout his career. Slipping to the fourth-ranked Australian and out of the top 30 in 2018, can Kyrgios re-discover his mojo in Brisbane?
While Nadal and Murray are returning from injuries and Dimitrov and Kyrgios are attempting to recapture their best tennis, Kei Nishikori is on the other end of the spectrum. The Japanese star made his own comeback from injury at the start of 2018 and has risen from outside the top 30 to inside the top 10 during a stellar 2018 that yielded a runner-up finish at the Monte-Carlo Masters and a semi-final at the U.S. Open, which helped him qualify for the season-ending Nitto ATP Finals.
U.S. Open quarter-finalist John Millman, who stunned Roger Federer on his way to his first major quarter-final in New York, will also be in action at his hometown event in Brisbane in 2019. Stay tuned over the coming months as more players are announced for the 2019 Brisbane International!


Come back later when the 2019 Brisbane International seeds are announced.


The tournament was launched in 1972 (and was previously contested in Adelaide), before becoming a joint ATP-WTA event at Brisbane in 2009. Since then it has become a highly popular tournament for players to kick off the new year.
Staged at the Queensland Tennis Centre, the Brisbane International is one of only two events played in Australia that players can compete in to prepare for the scorching temperatures in Melbourne’s Australian Open. The Apia International Sydney is the other event, and it occurs the week after, following the Brisbane action and concluding just two days before the start of the major at Melbourne Park.
The tournament boasts a list of famous former champions including Thomas Muster (1990), Goran Ivanisevic (1992), Yevgeny Kafelnikov (1994, 1996) and Jim Courier (1995). More recently, Radek Stepanek won the inaugural edition of the joint Brisbane International event in 2009, defeating Spaniard Fernando Verdasco in three sets in the final.
Since then a new winner has been crowned almost every year, with Andy Murray the only player to date to have won dual titles at the refreshed tournament, triumphing consecutively in 2012 and 2013. Home favourite and three-time overall champion Lleyton Hewitt then pulled off the enthralling victory against Roger Federer in the 2014 final, while Federer returned to make amends in 2015, simultaneously winning the title and recording his 1,000th ATP World Tour victory.
However Federer couldn’t join Murray as the only man to have won two Brisbane titles as Milos Raonic and his destructive serve stormed past the Swiss in straight sets in the 2016 final. Raonic would fall in the semi-finals of his title defence in 2017, with Bulgarian star Grigor Dimitrov conquering three top 10 players on the bounce, including Raonic, Dominic Thiem and Kei Nishikori, to capture the title – a result that would ultimately act as a springboard for his run to the Australian Open semi-finals a few weeks later.
Nick Kyrgios joined Lleyton Hewitt as an Australian champion at the Brisbane International in 2018, defeating defending champion Dimitrov in the semi-finals before taking out Ryan Harrison in the final for his fourth ATP World Tour title.


ATP Brisbane fast facts

ATP Brisbane Brisbane International
Dates December 30 to January 6
Venue Queensland Tennis Centre
Location Brisbane, Australia
First Played 2009
Draw Size 32
Surface ATP 250
Category Hard
Prize Money $437,380
Reigning Singles Champion Nick Kyrgios
Reigning Doubles Champion John Peers/Henri Kontinen


Previous ATP Brisbane winners

Year Champion Runner-up
2009 Radek Stepanek Fernando Verdasco
2010 Andy Roddick Radek Stepanek
2011 Robin Soderling Andy Roddick
2012 Andy Murray Alexandr Dolgoplov
2013 Andy Murray Grigor Dimitrov
2014 Lleyton Hewitt Roger Federer
2015 Roger Federer Milos Raonic
2016 Milos Raonic Roger Federer
2017 Grigor Dimitrov Kei Nishikori
2018 Nick Kyrgios Ryan Harrison


Ranking points on offer at ATP 250 events

Round Points
Champion 250
Runner-up 150
Semifinal 90
Quarterfinal 45
Round of 16 20
First round 10
Qualifying 12