Davis Cup Finals 2019: Djokovic, Nadal, Murray to headline inaugural Davis Cup Finals

leyeaduloju in Uncategorized 23 Oct 2019
Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have been named in the Spanish and Serbian squads for the 2019 Davis Cup Finals.
The squads for the Davis Cup Finals have been announced, with Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal set to lead their respective countries, while in-form Daniil Medvedev headlines a strong Russian team. The Davis Cup Finals will be staged in Madrid from 18-24 November.

*Geo-restrictions apply. Streams available to customers with an active balance
The 18 finalists have been split into six groups of three nations each, with the group winners, along with the two best second-placed teams advancing to the quarter finals. Group matches will be played in round-robin format, with each match featuring two singles ties and a doubles match.
The inaugural Finals will be without 20-time Grand Slam champion, Roger Federer following Switzerland’s failure to qualify for the event in Madrid, while world No. 6, Alexander Zverev, who has been a major critic of the revamped format, is also absent, choosing instead to play a series of exhibition matches with Federer in Mexico and South American around the same period. Also missing are Kei Nishikori, who has been ruled out for the rest of the season with an elbow injury, Dominic Thiem and Stefanos Tsitsipas, as Austria and Greece did not qualify for the finals.
Great Britain’s Andy Murray is part of the Great Britain squad, as he returns to the Davis Cup arena for the first time since 2016. Murray is joined by British No. 1, Dan Evans, while doubles pair, Jamie Murray and Neal Skupski make up captain Leon Smith’s initial four-man squad. Smith has the option of a fifth player, which will likely come down to a choice between former British No. 1, Kyle Edmund and Cameron Norrie. Edmund has endured a poor run of form of late, losing his last seven tour matches, and slipping out of the top-70 in the process. The 24-year-old has also lost the country’s No. 1 ranking to Evans.
Either way, the Brits will fancy their chances in Group E, where they have been drawn with Netherlands and Kazakhstan. Netherlands are spearheaded by Robin Haase, who is currently out of the top-100, while a decent Kazakhstan team includes Alexander Bublik and Mikhail Kukushkin.
Home nation, Spain are in a much tougher Group B, as they are joined by defending champions, Croatia, and a formidable Russian outfit. The Spanish team features the country’s top-three singles players, with Nadal joined by Roberto Bautista-Agut and Pablo Carreno Busta, while doubles experts, Feliciano Lopez and Marcel Granollers add balance to the squad.
Last year’s winners, Croatia have rolled out their top two players, Borna Coric and Marin Cilic, and are also well-covered in the doubles department, with Mate Pavic, Nikola Metkic and Ivan Dodig, all of whom are inside the top-20 in the doubles rankings, included. Russia go into the tournament with their big guns- Medvedev, Karen Khachanov and Andrey Rublev- setting up the mouth-watering prospect of a US Open final rematch between Nadal and Medvedev.
2010 champions, Serbia are in Group A, alongside France and Japan, with Novak Djokovic headlining the Serbian side. A strong singles line-up also includes Umag champion and Monte Carlo finalist, Dusan Lajovic, and Antwerp runner-up, Filip Krajinovic. There is no place for rising star, Miomir Kecmanovic, and 24-year-old Laslo Djere.  Making up the squad are Janko Tipsarevic, a surprise inclusion as he recently retired from ATP Tour duties, and doubles expert, Ivan Dodig. 
France are led by their No. 1 player, Gael Monfils, who is joined by Benoit Paire, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut in a typically balanced team, but Japan are without their top man, Kei Nishikori, who is out for the season due to an elbow problem. Yoshihito Nishioka is the highest-ranked player in the Japanese squad.
Elsewhere, Jan-Lennard Struff and Philipp Kohlschreiber will lead the German challenge as they attempt to get out of Group C, which includes the South American pair of Chile and Argentina. The Argentine squad is an interesting one, as it currently comprises four men- Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Leonardo Mayer and Horacio Zeballos- leaving space for one more player. With Juan Martin del Potro set to return to action before the end of the year, could he be playing Davis Cup tennis in November?
Another notable inclusion is Nick Kyrgios, who returns to the Davis Cup fold for the first time since February last year. The controversial Australian has been struggling with a shoulder problem, but he makes the Aussie team that will compete in Group D alongside Belgium, led by David Goffin, and Colombia.
Canada have a good-looking side in Group F, with young guns, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Denis Shapovalov joined by Milos Raonic and Vasek Pospisil. They are in the same group as North American rivals, USA and a formidable Italian unit comprising Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini, Andreas Seppi, Lorenzo Sonego and Simone Bolleli.

Davis Cup Squads

Davis Cup Finals Group A

Team France Japan Serbia
Player 1 Gael Monfils Yoshihito Nishioka Novak Djokovic
Player 2 Benoit Paire Yasutaka Uchiyama Dusan Lajovic
Player 3 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Yuichi Sugita Filip Krajinovic
Player 4 Pierre-Hugues Herbert Taro Daniel Viktor Troicki
Player 5 Nicolas Mahut Ben McLachlan Janko Tipsarevic
Captain Sebastien Grosjean Satoshi Iwabuchi Nenad Zimonjic

Davis Cup Finals Group B

Team Croatia Russia Spain
Player 1 Borna Coric Daniil Medvedev Rafael Nadal
Player 2 Mate Pavic Karen Khachanov Roberto Bautista-Agut
Player 3 Nikola Metkic Andrey Rublev Pablo Carreno Busta
Player 4 Ivan Dodig Evgeny Donskoy Feliciano Lopez
Player 5 Marcel Granollers
Captain Zeljko Krajan Shamil Tarpishev Sergi Bruguera

Davis Cup Finals Group C

Team Argentina Chile Germany
Player 1 Diego Schwartzman Cristian Garin Jan-Lennard Struff
Player 2 Guido Pella Nicolas Jarry Philipp Kohlscheiber
Player 3 Leonardo Mayer Alejandro Tabilo Dominik Koepfer
Player 4 Horacio Zeballos Marcelo Tomas Barrios Vera Kevin Krawietz
Player 5 Maximo Gonzalez Hans Podlipnik-Castillo Andreas Mies
Captain Gaston Gaudio Nicolas Massu Michael Kohlmann

Davis Cup Finals Group D

Team Australia Belgium Colombia
Player 1 Alex de Minaur David Goffin Daniel Galan
Player 2 Nick Kyrgios Kimmer Coppejans Santiago Giraldo
Player 3 John Millman Steve Darcis Alejandro Gonzalez
Player 4 Jordan Thompson Joran Vliegen Juan Sebastian Cabal
Player 5 John Peers Sander Gille Robert Farah
Captain Lleyton Hewitt Johan Van Herck Pablo Gonzalez

Davis Cup Finals Group E

Team Great Britain Kazakhstan Netherlands
Player 1 Dan Evans Alexander Bublik Robin Haase
Player 2 Kyle Edmund Mikhail Kukushkin Tallon Griekspoor
Player 3 Andy Murray Dmitry Popko Botic Van de Zandschulp
Player 4 Jamie Murray Alexsandr Nedovyesov Wesley Koolhof
Player 5 Neal Skupski Andrey Golubev Jean Julien Rojer
Captain Leon Smith Dias Doskarayev Paul Haarhuis

Davis Cup Finals Group F

Team Canada Italy USA
Player 1 Felix Auger-Aliassime Matteo Berrettini Taylor Fritz
Player 2 Denis Shapovalov Fabio Fognini Reilly Opelka
Player 3 Brayden Schnur Lorenzo Sonego Sam Querrey