Davis Cup Finals 2019 – Teams, draw, schedule and more for the inaugural Davis Cup Finals in Madrid

hannahwilks in Uncategorized 22 Nov 2019
Croatia celebrate winning the Davis Cup in 2018. (PA Sports)

Everything you need to know about the inaugural Davis Cup Finals – teams, players, tournament schedule and more.

The new-look Davis Cup Finals take place in Madrid from 18-24 November 2019 – here’s your guide to the revamped event which now brings the tennis season to a close.
The 119-year-old competition, which began as a challenge between Great Britain and the USA in 1900, has evolved over the years into one of the world’s biggest annual international team sports events and has been dramatically reimaged for the 2019 edition, with the year-round system of home and away ties replaced by a week-long final round held at a neutral venue and featuring the top 18 teams in the world.
The 18 finalists have been split into six groups of three nations each, with the group winners, along with the two best second-placed teams advancing to the quarter finals. Group matches will be played in round-robin format, with each match featuring two singles ties and a doubles match. The new format has had its fair share of controversy, with some prominent players and fans criticizing the revamped system, but this week’s Finals still boasts a star-studded cast, spearheaded by the top two players in the world, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. 
The tournament will however be without 20-time Grand Slam champion, Roger Federer, and Nitto ATP Finals finalists, Dominic Thiem and Stefanos Tsitsipas as their countries did not qualify for the Finals. Germany’s Alexander Zverev opted out of the competition, choosing instead to play a series of exhibition matches with Federer in Mexico and South American around the same period.
There have been a couple of high profile late withdrawals, most notably Marin Cilic, who led Croatia to Davis Cup glory last season. The former US Open champion misses the tournament with a recurring knee problem, while former world No. 3, Milos Raonic will also be absent from the Finals after withdrawing with a back problem.

Davis Cup Finals Groups

Davis Cup Finals Group A

Team France Japan Serbia
Player 1 Gael Monfils Yoshihito Nishioka Novak Djokovic
Player 2 Benoit Paire Yasutaka Uchiyama Dusan Lajovic
Player 3 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Yuichi Sugita Filip Krajinovic
Player 4 Pierre-Hugues Herbert Taro Daniel Viktor Troicki
Player 5 Nicolas Mahut Ben McLachlan Janko Tipsarevic
Captain Sebastien Grosjean Satoshi Iwabuchi Nenad Zimonjic

Davis Cup Finals Group B

Team Croatia Russia Spain
Player 1 Borna Coric Daniil Medvedev Rafael Nadal
Player 2 Mate Pavic Karen Khachanov Roberto Bautista-Agut
Player 3 Nikola Metkic Andrey Rublev Pablo Carreno Busta
Player 4 Ivan Dodig Evgeny Donskoy Feliciano Lopez
Player 5 Marcel Granollers
Captain Zeljko Krajan Shamil Tarpishev Sergi Bruguera

Davis Cup Finals Group C

Team Argentina Chile Germany
Player 1 Diego Schwartzman Cristian Garin Jan-Lennard Struff
Player 2 Guido Pella Nicolas Jarry Philipp Kohlscheiber
Player 3 Leonardo Mayer Alejandro Tabilo Dominik Koepfer
Player 4 Horacio Zeballos Marcelo Tomas Barrios Vera Kevin Krawietz
Player 5 Maximo Gonzalez Hans Podlipnik-Castillo Andreas Mies
Captain Gaston Gaudio Nicolas Massu Michael Kohlmann

Davis Cup Finals Group D

Team Australia Belgium Colombia
Player 1 Alex de Minaur David Goffin Daniel Galan
Player 2 Nick Kyrgios Kimmer Coppejans Santiago Giraldo
Player 3 John Millman Steve Darcis Alejandro Gonzalez
Player 4 Jordan Thompson Joran Vliegen Juan Sebastian Cabal
Player 5 John Peers Sander Gille Robert Farah
Captain Lleyton Hewitt Johan Van Herck Pablo Gonzalez

Davis Cup Finals Group E

Team Great Britain Kazakhstan Netherlands
Player 1 Dan Evans Alexander Bublik Robin Haase
Player 2 Kyle Edmund Mikhail Kukushkin Tallon Griekspoor
Player 3 Andy Murray Dmitry Popko Botic Van de Zandschulp
Player 4 Jamie Murray Alexsandr Nedovyesov Wesley Koolhof
Player 5 Neal Skupski Andrey Golubev Jean Julien Rojer
Captain Leon Smith Dias Doskarayev Paul Haarhuis

Davis Cup Finals Group F

Team Canada Italy USA
Player 1 Felix Auger-Aliassime Matteo Berrettini Taylor Fritz
Player 2 Denis Shapovalov Fabio Fognini Reilly Opelka
Player 3 Brayden Schnur Lorenzo Sonego Sam Querrey
Player 4 Vasek Pospisil Andreas Seppi Frances Tiafoe
Player 5 Simone Bolelli Jack Sock
Captain Frank Dancevic Corrado Barrazzutti Mardy Fish